The Jesse Table

Well, I don’t know about anyone else…but I am ready for fall!  Not that in Florida we see a change in the seasons really, but in spite of that I just love Florida fall!! We have those long fall days where the sky is blue and the air is crisp and you open all of the windows in your house and the breeze blows through so fresh and clean….  (heavy sigh)…

Ok, back to reality.  I found a cute pedestal table on the side of the road in pieces.  I hauled it home, put it together, and really didn’t give it another thought.  UNTIL…my youngest daughter decided she wanted it.

20150123_085220I thought about it, the table wasn’t the sturdiest thing and she has a young one at home.  We talked and decided it needed to be fixed and painted…  Soooo, that is what I did, all new hardware in the pedestal and a paint job.

wpid-20150921_173800.jpg

I decided to paint it Olympic’s Bone White.  Now, this happens to be a flat interior paint…but I LOVE this particular take on white.  It is creamy and not yellow or grey…or blue for that matter.  And if your like me, you have pulled swatches and paint chips by the dozen looking for the perfect white.  In my world…this color is it!!!   My daughter thought about it being white and went through my stencil collection and said,…”hey mom…can you do these two stencils on it in orange?” I thought to myself….ORANGE???  ok.  So I mixed together some craft paint I already had…yellow base, a small squirt of red and a little bit of brown….I got a sort of orange-y terracotta color, and this is me starting the stencils.

wpid-20150922_121633.jpg

I let it dry and did two coats of Varathane’s water based Polyurethane to seal it.

wpid-20150922_142029.jpgI love how this little table turned out!!  I have a hard time believing that a table that someone threw away became this. It just goes to show, you don’t have to throw away furniture. There is always a way to breathe new life into things instead of filling up a land fill with them!!

I hope everyone has a happy fall!!

From my garage to yours!

Lorie

