The Cutest Coffee Table

Hello!!  I did this coffee table a while back for my youngest daughter.  It was a little table that I remember playing at in my early childhood. It was in a little house that my Gram lived in when I was a very young child, which was the house my mother was raised in.  Then it was moved to a sun room in the house she moved into later, which is the house I have the most memory of.  It had been sitting in a shed at my brother’s house, and he offered it to me.  So I took on the challenge!

wpid-20151030_132606.jpg

A couple of the reasons I felt this would work at my daughter’s house is because it was in her color scheme, and it kept it in the family.  This picture is of it cleaned up and sanded, getting ready for transformation.  I decided that staining the wood a bit on the dark side would hide some of the imperfections, and would help the tiles pop.  I think it worked!

wpid-20151030_133621.jpgAt this point I was trying to decide if the teal would be overpowering as the color of the base, and if keeping it white would be a better choice.  I actually took my finger and dabbed some of the teal directly onto the green in the tiles. The teal disappeared, the difference was so slight.  I decided to go for it!!

wpid-20151102_122500.jpg

As usual, I was really excited at this point and didn’t take the picture of it with jus the teal paint.  This is with it antiqued.  I used Valspar’s “Fish Story” for the teal and for the antiquing…I used Minwax “dark walnut” stain.  I like that it brings out all of the legs detail.

wpid-20151102_122431.jpg

I really love how this turned out.

From my garage to yours!!

Lorie

